Monday, March 16, 2015

Persons in News: February 2015 (PDF Download)

Friends.. Here is the persons in News for February 2015. Useful for all upcoming competitive Exams..
Download as PDF: Click Here 

Novak Djokovic - He defeated Andy Murray to win Australian Open 2015.
Leander Paes and Martina Hingis - They won Australian Open mixed doubles 2015.
Carl Djerassi - Father of birth control pill, he passed away.
K Sripavan - Appointed as the new Chief Justice of Srilanka.
Kangana Ranaut & Shahid Kapoor: They bagged the best actor awards at 60th Filmfare Awards.
Dr.Nandita Chatterjee - She took over as new Secretary(Housing & Urban Poverty Alleviation).
Nicol David - World squash champion Nicol David (Malaysia) has set a new record for topping the world rankings when she secured top spot for the 106th month.
Angelina Jolie - She was named the most admired woman in the world, as per a poll over 23 countries conducted by YouGov.
Usha Thorat - She will chair the External Advisory Committee (EAC) to evaluate applications received for small finance banks.
Nachiket Mor - He will chair the External Advisory Committee (EAC) for payment banks.
Saloni Dalal - She became youngest medal winner in National Games 2015 held in Kerala.
Mrinalini Mukherjee - Noted sculptor, she passed away.
LC Goyal - He was appointed as new home secretary.
Roopa Kudva - Infosys appointed CRISIL MD Roopa Kudva as independent board member.
Pragyan Ojha - BCCI has cleared suspended left-arm spinner Pragyan Ojha's action.
Cyrus S Poonawalla - He was named EY entrepreneur of the year.
RK Gupta - Project director of nuclear-capable Agni-V missile programme R.K. Gupta has been moved out by government.
M O Garg - He has assumed charge as director general of the Council of Scientific & Industrial Research (CSIR).
Cristiano Ronaldo - He was voted the best player in the English Premier League.
Bhalchandra Nemade - He was selected for the 50th Jnanpith Award for 2014.
Zoe Konstantopoulou - She was appointed as the youngest President of Greek Parliament.
Shubhajit Sen - Micromax has appointed Shubhajit Sen as its chief marketing officer (CMO).
Atmaram Bhende - Veteran Marathi theatre artiste and film actor, he passed away.
Anirban Lahiri - Indian golfer, he won Malaysian Open 2015. He also won Best Professional golfer of the year award during Feb 2015.
Naveen Chopra - New chief operating officer (COO) of Vodafone India.
Ricky Kej, Neela Vaswani - Musician Ricky Kej and activist Neela Vaswani won at the 57th Grammy awards. Both are Indian origin.
Tony Tan - Singapore president Tony Tan arrived in India on 4-day visit during February 2015.
Vinod Mehta - Acclaimed Journalist Vinod Mehta was awarded the Yash Bharti Samman 2015 by the government of Uttar Pradesh.
Amartya Sen - Economist and Nobel laureate Amartya Sen has won the newly instituted Charleston-EFG John Maynard Keynes Prize.
Narendra Modi - He crossed 10 million follower mark on Twitter.
Krishna Chaudhary - Senior IPS officer Krishna Chaudhary took charge as the Director General (DG) of Indo-Tibetan Border Police (ITBP).
Pramod Asthana - Head of special investigation team (SIT) formed to re-open and re-investigate serious criminal cases relating to 1984 anti-Sikh riots.
Brendon McCullum - He was named the New Zealand's Sportsman of the Year. He also recorded the fastest-ever World Cup fifty.
Mads Nissen - He won World Press Photo of the year 2014.
Yaduveer Gopal Raj Urs - He is new heir of Mysuru Royal Family.
Ashton Carter - He was confirmed as new US defence secretary.
Balasubramaniam Venkataramani - He was appointed as new MD & CEO of Multi Commodity Exchange (MCX).
Ashish Agrawal - Micromax Informatics named Ashish Agrawal as Chief Technology Officer.
Kesava Reddy - Telugu novelist Kesava Reddy passed away.
Arvind Kejriwal - He was sworn in as the eighth Chief Minister of Delhi.
Steven Finn - England player, he took the first hat-trick of ICC 2015 Cricket World Cup.
Sunil Chhetri and Bala Devi - They were presented with 2014 AIFF Player of the Year award.
Virat Kohli - He became the first Indian to score a century against Pakistan at World Cup.
Dr. Tessy Thomas & Geeta Varadan - They were jointly named for Nayudamma Award 2014.
Maithripala Sirisena - New Sri Lankan President Maithripala Sirisena arrived in India on a 4-Day visit during February 2015.
Yogaraj CP - Indian yoga teacher, he sets Guinness record in Hong Kong for performing Yoga continuously for 40 hours non-stop.
Yuvraj Singh - He was bought by Delhi Daredevils for a whopping sum of Rs 16 crores in the IPL 2015 auction.
Punit Renjen - India-born Punit Renjen was appointed the chief executive of US-based accounting giant Deloitte's global operations.
Rajinder Puri - Veteran cartoonist, columnist and political activist Rajinder Puri died.
Kolinda Grabar-Kitarovic - Sworn in as the first female president of Croatia.
Jawed Usmani - He took oath as UP Chief Information Commissioner.
Faisal Siddiqui - HTC appointed Faisal Siddiqui as South Asia President.
Sourav Ganguly - He was made Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC) honorary life member.
Daggubati Ramanaidu - Legendary film producer Daggubati Ramanaidu passed away.
Anil Kumble - He was inducted into ICC Cricket Hall of Fame.
Jitan Ram Manjhi - He resigned as the Chief Minister of Bihar.
Chrishantha de Silva - He was appointed Sri Lanka Army chief.
Nitish Kumar - He took oath as Bihar's CM for the fourth time.
Dilip Shanghvi - Sun Pharma's founder and MD, he overtook Mukesh Ambani as the richest Indian.
Somdev Devvarman - He retained the Delhi Open title.
Purnendu Dasgupta - Indian-American, Purnendu Dasgupta, won prestigious chemistry award.
Rana Bhagwandas - The first Hindu chief justice of Pakistan Rana Bhagwandas passed away.
Ram Niwas Goel - He was elected Speaker of Delhi Assembly.
Chris Gayle - He hit the first double century in World Cup history.
R. K. Pachauri - He resigned as Chief of UN panel on climate change.
AB De Villiers - He scored the fastest 150 in one-day internationals during World Cup match against West Indies.
Justice Amitava Roy - Former chief justice of Orissa high court, he has sworn in as a judge of the Supreme Court.
Boris Nemtsov - Russian opposition leader Boris Nemtsov shot dead in Moscow.
Kshatrapati Shivaji - He took over as new CMD of SIDBI.
Arun K Singh - He is set to be India’s next ambassador to the US.
Kannan Ramesh - Indian-origin lawyer, he was appointed as a Judicial Commissioner to Singapore’s Supreme Court bench.

Courtesy :